An Evening of Monteverdi

Opera Lafayette’s 2017-2018 season opened with An Evening of Monteverdi - music from Claudio Monteverdi's Seventh and Eighth Books of Madrigals, including Il Combattimento di Tancredi et Clorinda, a timely tragic tale of love during war. Archlutenist Thomas Dunford, harpsichordist Jean Rondeau, and mezzo-soprano Lea Désandre, three young luminaries of the early music scene, join an ensemble of vocalists and instrumentalists.


"An evening of exceptional music-making." | Read Full Review
Charles Downey, Washington Classical Review, October 25, 2017

"The lovely Ms. Redpath showed her vulnerable side in "Lamento della ninfa" with three male voices (Mr. Kilbride, baritone David Newman, and bass Alex Rosen) serving as a Greek chorus commenting on her fate. The performance of Guest Musical Director Thomas Dunford on the archlute was particularly fine here, adding to the sonorities. " | Read Full Review
Meche Kroop, Voce di Meche, October 26, 2017

Washington, DC:
Tuesday, October 24, 2017, 7:30 p.m.
The Terrace Theater, The Kennedy Center

New York City:
Wednesday, October 25, 2017, 7:30 p.m.
Elebash Recital Hall, the Graduate Center (CUNY)

Additional Materials